View larger image

Wilmoth Houdini - Poor But Ambitious

CAT. #: 7010

Price: $15.00

CD 7010

Wilmoth Houdini - vocals with Gerald Clark's Night Owls and other orchestras.

Wilmoth Houdini was the most recorded calypsonian of his generation. His songs covered a variety of styles and topics including prostitution, murder, satire, Carnival, social equality, and male-female relationships. Historic Calypsos from 1928 - 1940.

1. Sweet Like A Honey Bee
2. Song No. 99
3. Uncle Jo' Gimme Mo'
4. Trifling Men
5. No Mo' Bench And Board
6. Sweet Papa Willie
7. Honey I'm Bound To Go
8. The Cooks In Trinidad
9. Arima Tonight, Sangre Grande Tomorrow Ni
10. Black But Sweet
11. I Need A Man
12. Stop Coming And Come
13. Tiger Tom Kill Tiger Cat
14. That Big Black Woman
15. West Indian Sugar Crop
16. Unfortunate Milley
17. Teacher Nose Gay The Shouter
18. Mickey Cipriani's Career
19. Glorius Centenary
20. Cipriani's And Bradshaw's Death
21. Bandsman Shooting Case
22. African Love Call
23. The Devil Behind Me
24. Poor But Ambitious


“The CD version of Arhoolie's vinyl Wilmoth Houdini collection has been expanded to twenty-four tracks and presents the premier exponent of the calypso singer's art in the 1930's commenting on everything from `Unfortunate Milley' to `Mickey Cipriani's Career' and `The Bandsman Shooting Case.' Once again the notes are by John Cowley - although they date from 1984 and the original issue - and the general presentation, as ever with Arhoolie, is excellent. Highly recommended.”

(Ray Templeton and Keith Briggs — Blues & Rhythm)