Ver imagen grande

The Carter Family - On Border Radio - 1939: Vol.2

Cod.artículo: 412

Precio: $15.00

CD 412

Arhoolie presents a second volume of rare border recordings by one of country music's true pioneers. These selections include unique performances by A.P. Carter, Jeanette, Maybelle and the Carter children. Together with Vol. 1 and Vol. 3 they serve to present a fuller picture of the Carter family and their music than is available simply from studio recordings.

1. Theme / Why Is There A Tear In My Eye
2. Sleep Baby Sleep
3. Just Another Broken Heart
4. Corina
5. I Can Not Be Your Sweetheart
6. Red Wing
7. A Broken Down Saint
8. Weeping Willow
9. You Are My Flower
10. Gathering Flowers From The Hillside
11. The Last Letter
12. I Wouldn't Mind Dying
13. Who's That Knocking At My Window?
14. Diamonds In The Rough
15. The Fatal Wedding
16. It's Hard To Please Your Mind
17. Death Is Only A Dream
18. Theme / XET Station Break
19. Theme / The Church In The Wildwood
20. Are You Tired Of Me My Darling?
21. Sourwood Mountain
22. Bury Me Not On The Lone Prairie
23. My Bonnie Blue Eyes
24. Yankee Doodle
25. Storms On The Ocean
26. Sugar Hill
27. Hello Stranger
28. Cowboy Jack
29. Nobody's Darling
30. Funny When You Feel That Way
31. Dixie Darling
32. Shortning Bread
33. Soldier And His Sweetheart
34. Polly Wolly Doodle All Day
35. My Gold Watch & Chain
36. River Of Jordan
37. I Never Will Marry
38. God Gave Noah The Rainbow Sign
39. Theme Out & Station Break


"The prolific Carters are having all their Victor 78s re-issued elsewhere, while Arhoolie is presenting another view of early country music's finest family, with transcriptions of their Mexican radio broadcasts. These recordings are less studied, less formal than the commercial disks, but feature many songs they did not wax on the other medium. Their reading of Washington Phillips' 'I Wouldn't Mind Dying (Bye and Bye, Going to See the King)' is nearly worth the price of admission.  We also hear many Carter offspring in various combinations, some commercials, and announcer asides, but the meat and potatoes are the wonderfully strong leads from Sara, Maybelle, and A.P. and their signature harmonies."

-Kerry Blech, Victory Review