Ver imagen grande

Clifton Chenier - Live! At The Long Beach And San Francisco Blues Festivals

Cod.artículo: 404

Precio: $15.00

CD 404

Clifton Chenier — accordion & vocals
with The Red Hot Louisiana Band: Cleveland Chenier — rubboard; Robert St. Judy — drums; C.J. Chenier — alto sax; Warren Cesar — trumpet; Sherman Robertson — guitar; Alonzo Johnson Jr. — bass.

#1—12 previously unissued (Long Beach, Ca.). Remaining cuts from San Francisco, Ca. previously available on ARH LP/C 1093.

1. Intro. & Theme By The Red Hot La. Band
2. Going Down Slow (I've Had My Fun)
3. Zydeco Two-Step
4. Calinda
5. What'd I Say
6. Party Down
7. I'm Coming Home
8. Pine Top's Boogie Woogie
9. They Call Me Crazy
10. Zydeco Cha Cha
11. You Gonna Miss Me
12. Caldonia
13. New Orleans Beat
14. Clifton's Zydeco
15. Let The Good Times Roll
16. Rock Me
17. Louisiana Two-Step
18. Cher Catin
19. I'm The Zydeco Man


“Arhoolie has once again gone to the vaults and unearthed 77 minutes of live, in-concert recordings of Zydeco Godfather Clifton Chenier. That makes three live CDs of Clifton Chenier on Arhoolie. Presented here are perform-ances at the 1982 San Francisco Blues Festival and the 1983 Long Beach Blues Festival. Liner notes claim these were Chenier's last great performances to be recorded before his death in 1987. The San Francisco material was previously issued in LP form, while the Long Beach is being made available for the first time. The recording quality seems high, especially the Long Beach session. Chenier's Red Hot Louisiana Band includes a horn section made up of his son, C. J., on alto sax and Warren Cesar on trumpet. Zydeco is party music. A live recording is the best way to capture the excitement as band and audience inspire each other to higher and higher heights of revelry. Clifton Chenier is gone, but with these live recordings we can experience why he will always be remembered as the King of Zydeco.”

(Baltimore Blues Society)