View larger image

Clifton Chenier - Bon Ton Roulet

CAT. #: 345

Price: $15.00

CD 345

Clifton Chenier - accordion & vocals and his band.

All of Clifton's 2nd ARH LP 1031 from 1966 with Morris Chenier on fiddle who was on the regional hits “Black Gal” and “Black Snake Blues.” Plus parts of ARH 1038, plus several previously unissued cuts from 1964.

1. Bon Ton Roulet
2. Frog Legs
3. If I Ever Get Lucky
4. Black Gal
5. Long Toes
6. Baby Please Don't Go
7. Houston Boogie
8. Blues De Ma Negresse
9. Sweet Little Doll (Cher Catin)
10. Jole Blonde
11. Ay, Ai Ai
12. French Town Waltz
13. Keep On Scratching
14. Black Snake Blues
15. Let's Talk It Over
16. Walking To Louisiana
17. Key To The Highway
18. Things Ain't Like They Used To Be
19. I Got A Little Girl
20. I'm On The Wonder
21. Jump The Boogie


“Not only is it the best Clifton Chenier CD, but an essential album of postwar, downhome blues, not simply a great Zydeco recordincludes recordings with the underrated Texas pianist Elmore Nixon and recordings with Chenier's uncle Morris 'Big' Chenier on fiddle. On other selections Chenier comes off like a miniature Count Basie Big Band (to use the late Ralph Gleason's analogy).

Uncle Morris' alley fiddle, along with Chenier's distinctive singing on 'Baby Please Don't Go' make this one of the best renditions of the song. Superb downhome version of 'Black Snake Blues,' wonderfully relaxed rendition of 'Key to the Highway,' classic arrangement of a blues standard with a booting saxophone solo from John Hart. So many albums are called essential, but this really is.”

(Ron Weinstock — Living Blues)