Ver imagen grande

Lightning Hopkins - The Gold Star Sessions - Vol 1

Cod.artículo: 330

Precio: $15.00

CD 330

Sam “Lightning” Hopkins - vocals and guitar.
Recorded in Houston for the Gold Star label in the late 1940s. Remastered in 1990 from the original acetates and 78 pressings.

Part one of two volumes. Also available “The Gold Star Sessions - Vol. 2”

1. Short Haired Woman
2. Baby Please Don't Go
3. Going Home Blues (Going Back And Talk To Mama)
4. Automobile Blues (666a)
5. Big Mama Jump
6. Loretta Blues
7. Seems Funny Baby
8. Thunder And Lighting Blues
9. Grosebeck Blues
10. Tim Moore's Farm (Tom Moore's Farm)
11. Lightnin's Boogie
12. Traveler's Blues
13. Goodbye Blues
14. Unkind Blues
15. Fast Life Woman
16. Zolo Go (Zydeco) (Zoligo)
17. You Don't Know
18. Treat Me Kind
19. Somebody Got To Go
20. Death Bells
21. Mad With You
22. Airplane Blues
23. Racetrack Blues
24. Unsuccessful Blues


“These two volumes round up all of Hopkins' seminal recordings, all recorded for the Houston-based Gold Star label between 1947 and 1950 the majority are either definitive postwar Texas blues performances (even shades of Zydeco appear on `Zolo Go') or vividly reveal what Hopkins learned from Texas Alexander and other early influences.”

(Mike Joyce — The Washington Post)

“Every blues collection should include a selection of Lightning Hopkins' early sides and I suggest one, if not both, of these. This blues is just so good.”

(Mark Harris — Juke Blues)