Ver imagen grande

Flaco Jimenez - Ay Te Dejo En San Antonio

Cod.artículo: 318

Precio: $15.00

CD 318

Flaco Jiménez - accordion & vocals with his conjunto.

All of Flaco's Grammy winning album ARH 3021 (except "Margarita") plus most of ARH 3014.

1. Ay Te Dejo En San Antonio
2. Juarez
3. Mentiste Cuando Dijiste
4. El Barrelito
5. Las Gaviotas
6. Morir Sonando
7. Rosa Maria
8. Traigo Un Recuerdo
9. Amor De Los Dos
10. La Barranca
11. Mujer Casada
12. La Paloma
13. El Cerrito
14. Ni El Dinero Ni Nada
15. Angel Mio
16. Gritenme Piedras Del Campo
17. Un Viejo Amor
18. Tu Nuevo Carinito
19. El Gallito
20. La Piedrera
21. Spanish Eyes
22. Vuelve A Quererme


“This CD best captures Jiménez' genius and the essence of the San Antonio sound. Compared to his current work with the Texas Tornados, this release shows Jiménez' no-frills approach to the Tex-Mex conjunto accordion. Any cut will conjure images of the annual Conjunto Festival or a typical Saturday night at a neighborhood ice house.”

(Ben Taverna King — San Antonio Express-News)

“'Ay Te Dejo' is a delight, even if the material has all appeared before. The bulk is from the record of the same name made in 1985, with Toby Torres on bajo sexto and harmony vocals, the running time being boosted over the hour by selections from the 1979 release `El Sonido De San Antonio,' featuring Fred Ojeda, Oscar Tellez and other names familiar to Flaco followers. The sound is warm and relaxed, there's a nicely varied collection of regional styles including redovas, boleros and huapangos amidst the standard polka/waltz fare, and the playing is excellent with some risk-taking accordeon contemporisations.

As usual Arhoolie show their peers the way home with their exhaustive sleeve notes, and if you wish to own one Flaco Jiménez album from the traditional end of his considerable range, you won't go wrong with this one.”

(Brian Peters — Folk Roots)