Ver imagen grande

Sonny Boy Williamson - King Biscuit Time

Cod.artículo: 310

Precio: $15.00

CD 310

Sonny Boy Williamson - vocals and harmonica
with Dave Campbell - piano; Cliff Bivens - bass; Frock O'Dell - drums; Joe Willie Wilkins - guitar.

These are the best of his early 1950s recordings originally issued on the Trumpet label plus a 15-minute radio program over KFFA just before his death and Elmore James' original recording of "Dust My Broom" which features Sonny Boy on harmonica.

1. Do It If You Wanna
2. Cool, Cool Blues
3. Come On Back Home
4. Stop Crying
5. Eyesight To The Blind
6. West Memphis Blues
7. I Cross My Heart
8. Crazy About You Baby
9. Nine Below Zero
10. Mighty Long Time
11. She Brought Life Back To The Dead
12. Stop Now Baby
13. Mr. Downchild
14. Sonny Boy's Christmas Blues
15. Pontiac Blues
16. Too Close Together
17. V-8 Ford Blues
18. Stormy Monday
19. Right Now
20. Come Go With Me
21. Dust My Broom


“...the very best (Sonny Boy Williamson) ever recorded. Hard driving rural blues, ferocious harmonica and vocals.”

(David Harrison — Folk Roots)

“`King Biscuit Time' contains his first, landmark recordings, the songs that forever established him as a remarkable, stand out performer. Personal favorites are `Nine Below Zero,' `Eyesight to the Blind,' `Cool, Cool Blues' and `Pontiac Blues,' but there's nothing here that's second rate.

A 15-minute radio program from 1965, done right before his death, also has historic value.

Finally, the disc has a definitive version of `Dust My Broom,' whose key riff has probably recycled through urban blues as much as the opening section of Chuck Berry's licks on `Maybelline' have filtered through the rock domain.”

(Ron Wynn — Living Blues)