Ver imagen grande

Bee Houston & His High Steppers - The Hustler

Cod.artículo: 9008

Precio: $10.00

CD 9008

Texas born, Los Angeles blues guitarist Bee Houston became known as Big Mama Thornton's guitarist during the waning years of her career. He was also a rough but wonderful, although largely unknown, singer. Unfortunately he died before the current rave for Blues got under way. This CD contains not only his entire Arhoolie LP issued in the 1970s, but also most of a second, earlier but unissued session. We have also included a previously un-released, improvised cut sung by Big Mama Thornton which belongs to Bee Houston because it shows him as the remarkably sensitive and soulful musician and person that he was.

Bee Houston - vocals on #s 1, 3, 4, 6, 10, 12, 13, & 16. Willie Molette - vocals on #s 7, 8, 14, & 17. Big Mama Thornton vocals on # 11.

1. You Think I'm Your Good Thing
2. Busy Bee
3. Be Proud To Be A Black Man
4. The Hustler
5. Break Away
6. Things Gonna Get Better
7. Never
8. Lovesick Man
9. Freddy's Bag
10. Any Time
11. Woke Up This Morning
12. When I Go Out
13. Any Time (2)
14. Lovesick Man (2)
15. Charlie's Bag
16. Things Gonna Get Better (2)
17. Don't Take Your Love From Me
18. Blues For Rupez (D Flat Blues)
19. Do It Easy


“Plug him in and Bee Houston could have powered small cities with his supercharged soul/blues and an equally kinetic attack on the guitar.... With an 'ugh, ugh, ugh, ugh' kick-start, he slams into the pure, straight-up '60s-era, high-energy soul (complete with a bank of pumping horns and a slapping tambourine)... His familiar wiry lead which backs Big Mama's lone cameo here on 'Woke Up This Morning' completes this 19 track document of Bee Houston's zestful powers.”

(Dennis Rozanski — Blues Rag)