View larger image

Lydia Mendoza - Mal Hombre

CAT. #: 7002

Price: $15.00

CD 7002

Lydia Mendoza - vocals and 12-string guitar.

Includes four selections recorded by Cuarteto Carta Blanca in 1928, the first recordings by the Mendoza Family group, along with the original recording of "Mal Hombre," her biggest hit and many others of her 1930s recordings.

1. Mal Hombre
2. Al Pie De Tu Reja
3. Pero Hay Que Triste
4. Los Besos De Mi Negra
5. Mundo Enganoso
6. Sigue Adelante
7. El Lirio
8. La Costenita
9. Monterrey
10. Amorcito Consentido
11. Las Cuatro Milpas
12. No Quiero Ser Casado
13. Palida Luna
14. Pajarito Herido
15. Sola
16. La Jaibera
17. Tu Partida
18. Nunca
19. La Boda Negra
20. Tu Diras
21. Punalada
22. Delgadina
23. Celia
24. Jurame


“Once a household name among Mexican Americans, Lydia Mendoza was known for her lovely, expressive voice and her repertoire of sentimental love songs. In the early years of her career, she and her family eked out a living traveling from town to town to perform popular songs at farmers' markets and other public places. Gradually, she began to assume a leading role in the family group and she was soon appearing on the radio and in her own recordings. `Mal Hombre,' was the first of her solo recordings and became her theme song. It's a mournful tune about a coldhearted man who loves a young girl and cruelly dumps her. As on most of the tracks, Mendoza sings sweetly to the sole accompaniment of her own twelve-string guitar. There is a nice balance between slow, reflective songs such as `Sola' (Alone), and the more rhythmic (and almost bluesy) tunes, such as `Nunca' (Never). Also included on this CD are several earlier tracks (from the late twenties) of the Mendoza family band, known as Cuarteto Carta Blanca. You can pick out Lydia Mendoza's already strong voice, which rings out clear as a bell over the mandolin, guitar and occasional violin. The sound is surprisingly good, considering the dates of the original recordings. The older Mendoza family selections tend to be a bit muddier and suffer from some slight pitch fluctuation, but the more recent, solo tracks are quite clear. The booklet includes the lyrics with translations, so even a gringo can understand how sad these beautiful songs are. An excellent collection of historic recordings by one of the greatest Mexican-American singers; highly recommended.”

(Elaine Bradtke — Sing Out!)