View larger image

Campbell Brothers - Sacred Steel For The Holidays

CAT. #: 504

Price: $15.00

CD 504

1. Silent Night
2. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
3. Go Tell It On The Mountain
4. Rock Of Ages
5. The Dreydl Song
6. Joy To The World
7. What Child Is This
8. Hark The Herald Angel Sing
9. The First Noel
10. Little Drummer Boy
11. Christmas Song


“The lousy truth is that to review a Christmas album in time for a December issue I've got to listen to Christmas music before Thanksgiving. Hallelujah! When you're ready for your own mood shift, the Campbell Brothers' Sacred Steel for the Holidays is all you need. Chuck, Phil, and Carlton head up the holidays with their sizzling lap and pedal steel - hence the nom de guerre "sacred steel" - in bluesy covers of traditional music. Mix "Go Tell It on the Mountain," "Rock of Ages," and "The Dreydl Song" with "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen," "Joy to the World," and "Hark the Herals Angels Sing," and you've got yourself set musically. I don't quite know what it is about Christmas (Hannukkah, Kwanzaa, Eid) that keeps new titles spilling out of the bins each year. From novelty to Muzak, we all seem to acquire it. Get this one now. It will sell out and then you might get stuck in a turkey day mood for the rest of the year. Sacred Steel for the Holidays is a fine addition to it's everlasting Genre.”

(Richard Dorsett — Victory Review)