View larger image

Clifton Chenier - King Of The Bayous

CAT. #: 339

Price: $15.00

CD 339

Clifton Chenier - vocals and accordion with Cleveland Chenier - rubboard; Robert Peter (St. Judy) - drums; Joe Morris (Brochet) - bass; Antoine Victor - guitar; Elmore Nixon - piano; Raymond Monett - guitar.

All of ARH LP 1052 plus previously unissued selections.

1. Tu Le Ton Son Ton (Every Now And Then)
2. Hard To Love Someone
3. Who Can Your Good Man Be (Brown Skin Wom)
4. Zodico Two-Step (Zydeco Two-Step, French Two-Step)
5. Going La Maison
6. I Believe I'll Go Back Home
7. Release Me (From My Sin)
8. Grand Mamou (Big Mamou)
9. Ton Na Na (Aunt Na Na)
10. I'm Coming Home (To See My Mother)
11. Josephine Par Se Ma Femme
12. It's Christmas Time
13. Coming Home Tomorrow
14. Me And My Chauffeur
15. Mo Veux Connaitre (Where She Slept)
16. Tired Of Crying Over You
17. Clifton's Blues
18. Let's Rock A While


“Classic Chenier, from his most fertile period, with his most sympathetic and imaginative producer (Arhoolie's Chris Strachwitz). Chenier proves once again that nobody _ and I mean nobodycould ever be a credible contender to his Zydeco crown. His accordion playing is stunning, his vocals always convincing and his rhythms irresistibly danceable. He shows what a great blues man he was; the unissued `Clifton's Blues' is a beautiful minor key song, of the kind he made so much his own, while `Let's Rock Awhile' is a straight R & B instrumental.”

(Ray Templeton — Blues & Rhythm)