View larger image

Clifton Chenier - Bogalusa Boogie

CAT. #: 347

Price: $15.00


Compact Disc 347

The GRAMMY Hall Of Fame was created to honor recordings of lasting qualitative or historical significance that are at least 25 years old. Recordings are reviewed annually by a special member committee of eminent and knowledgeable professionals from all branches of the recording arts, and final approval is made by The Recording Academy Trustees.

"These musical treasures have brought us timeless recordings, and each of them deserves to be memorialized. These recordings are living evidence that music remains an indelible part of our culture." - Neil Portnow, President/CEO of The Recording Academy.

Clifton Chenier - accordion & vocals
and his Red Hot Louisiana Band with John Hart - sax.

The entire classic 1975 session which Rolling Stone calls “the essential Chenier recording.” Includes all of ARH LP 1076, several cuts from ARH LP LP 1078 plus one previously unissued cut.

1. One Step At A Time
2. M'appel Fou (They Call Me Crazy)
3. Quelque Chose Sur Mon Idee (There's Something On My Mind)
4. Ride 'Em Cowboy
5. Ma Mama Ma Dit (My Mama Told Me)
6. Je Me Reveiller Le Matin (I Woke Up This Morning)
7. I May Be Wrong
8. Take Off Your Dress
9. Allons A Grand Coteau (Let's Go To Grand Coteau)
10. Je Suis En Recolteur (I'm A Farmer)
11. Ti Na Na
12. Come Go Along With Me
13. Bogalusa Boogie


“This is probably the best Zydeco album of all time . . . This reissue represents an entire 1975 session (including a previously unreleased tune) with Chenier at the height of his powers working with his best band . . . Like the Muddy Waters 1954 group, Chenier's 1975 ensemble is one of the great bands in American history, and they rip through this set without taking prisoners.”

(Geoffrey Himes — Washington Post)

“If you missed this album the first time around, get it now, this is easily the King of Zydeco's single best record, a swampy rhythm and blues oriented set that finds Chenier accompanying himself on harmonica as well as accordion on some numbers. Tenor sax man John Hart never sounded better and the whole band hits a groove.”

(Macon Fry — Wavelength)