View larger image

The Carter Family: Don't Forget This Song

CAT. #: Book-Carter

Price: $24.98

Graphic novel (by Frank M. Young and David Lasky) and CD featuring songs of the Carter Family recorded on border radio station XET in Mexico, 1939.

Don't Forget This Song is the story of the Carter Family - the first superstar group of country music - who made hundreds of recordings and sold millions of records between 1927 and 1944. This rich and compelling original graphic novel is not only a unique biography, but a moving account that reveals the family's rise to success, their struggles along the way, and their impact on contemporary music. Illustrated with exacting detail and written in the Southern dialect of the time, its narrative is pure Americana. It is also a story of success and failure, or poverty and wealth, of racism and tolerance, of creativity and business, and of the enduring power of music and love.

CD Track Listing:

1. Introduction by Brother Bill Guild / Cannonball Blues
2. Hello Stranger
3. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
4. Chinese Breakdown
5. You Are My Flower
6. One Little Word
7. Cumberland Gap
8. Single Girl, Married Girl
9. Oh Death
10. Guitar Instrumental
11. You Denied Your Love