View larger image

Lightning Hopkins - The Gold Star Sessions - Vol. 2

CAT. #: 337

Price: $15.00

CD 337

Sam “Lightning” Hopkins - vocals & guitar (1947-52).

Also available “The Gold Star Sessions - Vol. 1"

1. Walking Blues
2. Shining Moon
3. Ida May
4. Mercy
5. Automobile Blues
6. Glory B. Blues (Blue Bird Blues)
7. All I Got Is Gone
8. Whiskey Blues
9. European Blues
10. What Can It Be
11. Lonesome Home
12. Appetite Blues
13. Lightning Blues
14. Hammond Boogie (Organ Boogie)
15. Rollin' Woman Blues
16. Jail House Blues
17. T-Model Blues
18. No Mail Blues
19. Ain't It A Shame
20. Old Woman Blues
21. Untrue Blues
22. Henny Penny Blues
23. Jackstropper Blues
24. Grievance Blues


“Every blues collection should include a selection of Lightning Hopkins' early sides and I suggest one, if not both, of these. This blues is just so good.”

(Mark Harris — Juke Blues)

“These two volumes round up all of Hopkins' seminal recordings, all recorded for the Houston-based Gold Star label between 1947 and 1950 the majority are either definitive postwar Texas blues performances (even shades of Zydeco appear on `Zolo Go') or vividly reveal what Hopkins learned from Texas Alexander and other early influences.”

(Mike Joyce — The Washington Post)