View larger image

Charlie Musselwhite - Memphis Charlie

CAT. #: 303

Price: $15.00

CD 303

Charlie Musselwhite - vocals & harmonica with Robben Ford, Patrick Ford, "Skip" Rose, Gerald Pedersen, Lafayette Leake, Tim Kaihatsu, Larry Martin and Karl Sevareid.

Recorded in 1971 & 1974. Cover by Linda Barry. (The best of ARH 1056 & 1074.)

1. It Ain't Right
2. Finger Lickin' Good
3. Up & Down The Avenue
4. Highways Blues
5. Wild, Wild Woman
6. Takin' My Time
7. Crazy For My Baby
8. Blue Steel
9. Take Me Back
10. This Old Nightlife
11. Taylor's, Arkansas
12. Cut You Loose
13. If Trouble Was Money
14. On The Spot Boogie


“Musselwhite's biting lines, dramatic singing style and overall colorful stage presence have made him a star among fans who flocked to him in the '60s and '70s. Half of the 14 songs were included on Takin' My Time with the rest taken from Goin' Back Down South. Both are excellent sets. The former includes sparkling guitar support from Robben Ford while the latter boasts the always formidable piano of Lafayette Leake. Musselwhite covers anthems from Little Walter, Willie Dixon, and Johnny Young, but he also does several originals, among them 'Up and Down the Avenue,' 'On the Spot Boogie,' and 'Highway Blues.' His voice has deepened some since the early '70s when these were recorded, but his booming harmonica licks are still easily identifiable”

(Ron Wynn — Living Blues)