View larger image

Big Mama Thornton - With the Muddy Waters Blues Band, 1966

CAT. #: 9043

Price: $10.00

CD 9043

Big Mama Thorton - Vocals; Muddy Waters - guitar; Otis Spann - Piano; James Cotton - harmonica; Sammy Lawhorn - guitar; Luther Johnson - bass; Francis Clay - drums

Big Mama Thornton is one of the greatest Blues shouters of all time. Her music has influenced the likes of Janis Joplin and Elvis, who would later cover songs originally recorded by Big Mama. She was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1984.

In 1966 she joined with the Muddy Waters Blues band to cut a classic album of down home shoutin' blues for Arhoolie Records.
This CD features 7 previously unissued tracks (#s 11-17)

1. I'm Feeling Alright
2. Sometimes I have a Heartache
3. Black Rat (take 4)
4. Life Goes On
5. Everything Gonna Be Alright
6. Big Mama's Bumble Bee Blues
7. Gimme A Penny (take 6)
8. Looking The World Over
9. I Feel The Way I Feel
10. Guide Me Home
11. Black Rat (take 2)
12. Wrapped Tight
13. Gimme A Penny (take 5)
14. Big Mama's Shuffle
15. Since I fell For You
16. I'm Feeling Alright (fast version)
17. Big Mama's Blues (My Love)


“Big Mama Thornton with the Muddy Waters Blues Band, arguably one of the all-time great blues recordings, has just been saved from oblivion, thanks to the man who recorded it, local folklorist and Arhoolie owner, Chris Strachwitz…The Big Mama/Muddy pairing happened only once on record, but nearly 40 years later, its sound grabs you with a sweaty vitality and creative urgency rarely heard in today’s music.”

-Larry Kelp, Common Ground